



ARISTOTLE PRIZE 2017 Procedures for the selection for the Aristotle Prize

1. Introduction and history

The Aristotle Prize was given to EFPA by the President of the 4th European Congress of Psychology in 1995 Athens, Greece, to be awarded to a psychologist from Europe who has made a distinguished contribution to psychology.

An agreement was signed between EFPA (Former President Ingrid Lunt) and the Congress Presidents of the 4th ECP (James Georgas and Marina Manthouli).

The first Aristotle Prize was awarded to Prof. Pieter Drenth from Amsterdam in 1995, followed by Prof. Paul Baltes from Berlin in 1997, David Magnusson in Stockholm 1999, Prof. Alan Baddeley in 2001 in London, Prof. Lea Pulkkinen in Vienna 2003, Prof. Rocio Fernandez-Ballesteros in 2005 in Granada, to Prof. William Yule in 2007 in Prague, to Prof. Claus Bundesen in 2009 in Oslo, to Prof. Marinus Van Ijzendoorn in 2011 in Istanbul, to Prof. Niels Birbaumer (University of Tübingen – Germany and Istituto di Ricovero e Cura a Carattere Scientifico - Venice), in July 2013 in Stockholm and to Prof. José Maria Peiro (University of Valencia) in July 2015 in Milano.



Aristoteles 384 BC – March 7, 322

2. Criteria

- a European psychologist or a group of European psychologists
- who is/are recognized internationally as having made a substantial and original contribution to psychology as a science or a profession.
- To be demonstrated by international recognition which includes :
 - publications in scholarly journals
 - presentations at national and European, especially European, conferences
 - a substantial contribution to European psychology through leadership, or the promulgation of psychology as a science and a profession.

3. Procedures

EFPA has set up a **5-person Aristotle Prize Committee** which includes its President, Secretary General, a member of the EC and two other members from the EFPA Board on Scientific affairs, and appointed for 4 years, who are recognized to be leading psychologists in Europe. There should be some continuity of membership of this committee, and it should function in communication with the Scientific Committee of the next European Congress of Psychology, which might be represented on the Committee.

4. Application procedure

Nominations should include (please send each document as separate pdf file)

- 1. a letter of nomination, sent in by EFPA's (associate) member associations or sectoral organisations, signed by <u>two</u> nominators
- 2. a statement as to how the nominee meets the criteria
- 3. a list of publications and
- 4. a current curriculum vitae and contact details (email address)
- 5. a picture (jpg format)

The nominations should be sent <u>only in digital form</u> to the EFPA head office (<u>headoffice@efpa.eu</u>) by **November 30, 2016**



The Aristotle Prize Lecture will be delivered during the European Congress of Psychology:

The Aristotle Prize plate is awarded during the Opening Ceremony of the European Congress of Psychology by the President of EFPA.

Ψ

The medal is awarded by the Presidents of the Association of Greek

Psychologists and the Hellenic Psychological Society and organizers of each European Congress of Psychology must make provision for this.